Posted by: richardpowell2013 | May 7, 2013

Humble Pie

20130507-085057.jpg

After working for the utility for 13 years I decided to resign and start traveling(tramping). My local union thought it would be a great idea if I would start in this area to get used to contractor work. I have worked distribution my whole career and did not know a thing about transmission. So I said,” Why not?”
What a learning curve this was…I was used to giving orders and now I was asking apprentices what we need to do next. As a Journeyman Lineman, I had to swallow my pride and learn as much as possible from a lower paid employee. I did this by doing my best to serve him. Of all the different time in ministry, church or individuals, this has definitely been the most difficult.
The good thing is that I learned a lot! By removing my prideful nature,(a lot of us Linemen have), I was able to swallow that big ol piece of “humble pie”. By learning to eat what at times, tastes terrible, I am able to see the true purpose that I was created for! But how do we make “humble pie”? Two things we need to consider; pride and humility.

Pride is an impurity that will destroy everything if we let it. It is like alcohol. My Grandaddy used to say that “alcohol will lie to you”! He usually told me this when I woke up bloody from a drunken brawl the night before. It is said that Pride goes before destruction, a haughty spirit before a fall. Isn’t it funny how us men think about how good we are? Brothers, we are in an unforgiving industry; if we don’t check our pride at the door when we come to work, we will eventually fail and possibly get hurt or hurt someone else. Pride has a way of preventing us from seeing what is real and what is not. When we are open to observations from others, we can learn more of what they know and what they are seeing. Now lets take a look at Humility.

Humility has been defined as doing nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others. Boy, does this go against our culture of today? Now men, don’t think for one minute that this definition is a sign of weakness. No, on the contrary, it will make you stronger! By choosing to put others first without sacrificing our own peace and joy, you will be amazed of the results. They will be willing to help you in return and that will make us stronger! Brothers, when we are unified for a common purpose, there is nothing stronger than a servants heart! Being humble does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline. It make us the men we were created to be; courageous men that are good providers for our families, good friends, lovers to our wives and loving fathers to our children. That my friends is what we are created for.

As I start my adventure as a traveling Journeyman Lineman, I continue to learn about serving others. I am also learning how much I am not in control. Last week I got laid off and no other jobs are available here in Florida. Well, there is an open door to California. I guess as Carrie (my wife) and I learn more about submission we are going to the west coast!:-)

Till next time my friends…

Responses

  1. Thank you for this.

  2. I am so excited that you and Carrie are blogging! To be able to learn, stay in contact and grow from y’all’s experience is such a blessing! Praying for you guys! Can’t wait to see how God is going to use you as you set out in complete faith!

  3. Wow, I pray for your protection from The Lord as you travel and are brought to the West Coast. I pray for God’s provision over you and Carry and that many lives are touched and changed through you two from The Lord. Jesus is our solid rock and foundation on which we depend for our every breath. May the Lord’s angels watch you and protect you everywhere you go. Psalm 91. Walk in His Love.
    Kathy

  4. That is an interesting story about leaving comfort behind. I know it won’t be too much longer before I leave Florida behind after being my home for almost 20 years, and also preparing to leave Disney after 18 years. I have struggled to leave my pride at the door as the day will come when I will begin a new career in Medical Billing. It’s important I do this now, and make it part of my daily practice as I will be embarking on a new journey. Pride has been a tough area. For me as I still get the desire to fight to defend my pride. This will not do in the medical field.


Leave a Reply

Categories

