Posted by: richardpowell2013 | June 26, 2013

Recycled Pain

Did you know that our greatest contribution to the world, our ministry, will not come from our strengths, but from our weaknesses? The very thing that we have not wanted to talk about is the very thing God wants you to talk about, God never waste a hurt and he does not want you to waste yours. God wants you to yield to him by allowing him to recycle your pain to help others. Most of us are under the misconception that God can only use talented, well-educated and gifted people. That is not true! God will use ordinary people like you and I to do extraordinary things for his glory. In fact, he will accomplish this through our weaknesses. Paul explains this in 2 Corinthians 12:9-10 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. It took me a while to understand this verse. I finally started to understand the meaning of this verse when one Sunday about 6 or 7 years ago, Carrie and I were enjoying a quiet afternoon together when I received a phone call from our lead pastor. Now, I just want to tell you that as a ministry director that is not always a good thing to get a call from the lead pastor on a Sunday afternoon, especially since I was kind of new to the church leadership role. Let’s just say that I was always ruffling some feathers. So when he called, needless to say I was a little nervous. He asked if I could come down to the church and talk to someone that he knew from high school that is an addict and is desperate for some help. He explained that he was not sure how to handle this situation and would like to turn it over to me. After that day I realized exactly what Paul was saying in this verse.
God wants to use me to reach people like me. When I am honest with someone about the weaknesses in my life, it becomes my strength and gives others hope. They see that if God can save a sinner like me, he can and will help them find freedom from their own hurts, habits and hang ups. Now you are probably thinking, “Yea, that sounds great but, I am not ready to get real about my stuff like you do.” I never said it was going to be easy. In fact the first few times I got open with others I was terrified but, I wouldn’t change a thing for God to be able to recycle my pain for His glory!

Until next time…..

20130626-190949.jpg

20140103-091130.jpg

Leave a Reply

Categories

