Posted by: richardpowell2013 | December 15, 2013

Loving Others

20131215-170612.jpg

I have a question for you; If you had 1 day to live, who would you spend it with? Family and friends; the people who you love and that love you. The people that you have done life with. That is exactly what Jesus did. He spent his last night with the ones he loved the most, his disciples. 
As we look at this intimate time that Jesus spent with the ones that he loved,which we can find in John 13,I don’t think most of us truly appreciate the example that He left us. Even when Jesus, God in the flesh, washed the disciples feet, they did not really understand what gravity of the simple act of love. That was a task of the lowest of the slaves and their teacher humbled himself to that position to make a illustration that love for one another has no bounds. John 13:8 “No,” said Peter, “you shall never wash my feet.” Jesus answered, “Unless I wash you, you have no part with me.”
Here, Jesus is explaining to Peter that if you don’t receive and understand this kind of love from me, how will you ever be able to reproduce it to show others? 
Now you are probably thinking, that Peter is not to smart. We all think like Peter until that kind of love is shown to us through relationships of brothers and sisters in Christ. Let me give you a personal example.
About 3 months after becoming a Christian, I was faced with a problem that involved a close family member. Now as the spiritual leader of our family, I had to make a decision whether to help this individual or not. Carrie suggested that I call for wise council because, I did not know what to do. I called my mentor that I have been studying with and ask “what should I do”? He said that he can not tell me what to do and ask me have I prayed about it. I didn’t want to hear that, I just wanted someone to make a decision for me. Feeling my frustration he invited me and Carrie over and we would pray about it. He said come over in about a hour, which was weird because ,he lived only 2 minutes away. 
So when we got there, we realized that the whole Celebrate Recovery leadership team was there.( that was the ministry we were involved in)
We went inside and started to pray. We got on our knees in a circle and Carrie and I were so upset we could only bow our heads and weep. Being overwhelmed with emotion, I looked up and realized that everyone was weeping praying out to God on our behalf. That is when God decided to show his love to me through others! Could it be that these other Christians could genuinely love me that much? Yes! I left there with a new confidence and I will never forget that day because, God showed me the power of his love through the relationships with others! 
Jesus tell us in John 13:34-35 “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”
One of the differences in my life since becoming a disciple of Christ is the love I have for my brothers and sisters and the love I feel from them. Carrie and I realize that relationships with other believers are essential for our growth in Christ as we live out an example of Christ love with others.

Until next time….

Responses

  1. What a powerful testimony you and Carrie are! We thank God for your friendship and the times you have showed us this exact love you are writing about here!

    • Thank you so much! We love you as family, well you are, can’t wait to see you over Christmas week!

      • We can’t wait too!

  2. Reblogged this on Our Adoption Voyage and commented:
    Powerful words by a wise friend!

    As disciples of Christ we must live everyday with a heart that wants to love others in a way that shows them God’s pure love!

  3. Reblogged this on High Voltage Disciples: A Wife's Perspective and commented:
    The simplest acts can have the greatest impact.

  4. Great reminder. Your timing is so appropriate after what I experienced last week. Thanks for sharing.

    • God has a way of doing that. Take care brother. Hope to see you over Christmas week!:-)


Leave a Reply

Categories

