Posted by: richardpowell2013 | March 19, 2014

TRAMP

20140319-074506.jpg

You are probably wondering what is a “Tramp”? I am considered a tramp because, I am an IBEW Journeyman Lineman that travels from place to place to work. My wife, Carrie, and I travel around the country making a living building and maintaining power lines. What an adventure it has been! A year ago, we decided to quit the local utility and travel to work. A lot of my union brothers asked, “Why would you quit a comfy utility job to tramp around the country to work?” To me the answer was simple; Carrie and I love to travel and meet others while building relationships and telling them about Jesus! In one word, “Discipleship.” It tells us in Matthew 28:19-20 “Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”
Although being a tramp is an adventure, it can be difficult at times being in a foreign location where a lot of people don’t accept what we are doing. Yes, I have been persecuted for my faith. It is at these times it can be lonely. Discipleship takes on a different appearance outside a church building as we go to different people groups. We have had our share of struggles, but it has made us stronger as we remain in God’s presence!
As we travel around the country trying to carry out Jesus’ purpose for our lives, we have met some wonderful brothers and sisters of the faith. We could not have made it without the encouragement of these God sent soldiers of Christ! As we engage in the spiritual battle on a daily basis, they would welcome us with open arms and help God heal our wounded spirit. God bless you, you know who you are.
As far as the work goes, there is a hundred different ways of doing something! What an awesome experience to get to work along side union brothers from all over the country. I have met some of the best hands in the business and want to thank them for helping me to adjust to the contractor world of line work. I have a new found respect for the brotherhood of our local union and after 26 years in the union, solidarity is never so important than now! Stay strong my union brothers,
Being a tramp lineman has been a humbling experience that I would not trade for anything. Why? Because this is right where God wants me! God has grown me in so many ways by relying on His power and not my own ability.
“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.”(Galatians 6:9)

Until next time……

Leave a Reply

Categories

