Posted by: richardpowell2013 | June 22, 2014

THE BULLY

20140622-165535-60935049.jpg

How many of you have ever been bullied? At some point in time we all have been pushed to the point of tremendous fear by someone or something. The physical harm from being bullied is secondary to the more harmful emotional & mental effects. I am speaking from experience.
In the 7th grade at the age of 13 I was a tender hearted boy who was slowly, but surely becoming a young man. As puberty arrived, I grew much quicker than my classmates and was a head taller than most of my peers. In other words, I was a boy in a young man’s body. It was a very confusing time for me.
A small gang called the “Cypress Cats” thought I would be a good example to prove to others how tough they were by beating me up. I was always raised not to fight no matter what. So, being obedient to my parents I didn’t fight back. I remember the punches in the back and all my missed lunches they would throw away just to control me. I was so afraid of them, I would skip school to avoid them. One day I was so desperate, I thought I could make a deal with the bullies; I would allow all 6 of them to punch me one time where ever they wanted as long as they would stop picking on me. I learned a valuable lesson that day, you can’t negotiate with fear! Needless to say, with a bruised and bleeding body, they continued to abuse me. Then the day came when I remember waking up and thinking the life I had with all that fear was not worth living. I decided that I was not going to live being that afraid of another human being ever again! I walked to school that day with a new strut knowing that live or die, I choose not to fear! As I went into the lunch room, the gang was waiting. I must have been smiling because, the leader of the punks asked, “what are you smiling at”? I said,”I am not afraid!” I won’t give you all the details, but as I started to correct the bad behavior of my adversaries, a 100 other junior high students left the lunch room in a hurry! The main ingredient of a bully cowardliness and that is no match for a young man of courage.

Almost 40 years later and I still refuse to let people control me; I’m hard headed that way. But like many of us I have another bully in my life that loves to instill fear in my soul and his name is satan. Why do you think there are so many verses in the bible saying “Do not fear”? God knows the debilitating power of fear and how it keeps us from doing His will. One of my favorite verses is Deuteronomy 31:6 “Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” Moses is explaining to the Israelites that his time on earth is finished and Joshua will be leading them into the promise land and don’t be afraid of what’s ahead.
I have to confess that I’m not as courageous as I should be. That scared boy in 7th grade comes back and I just want to hide. When we let fear run our lives, we will never know what God has planned for us. In case someone is in denial, let me give some examples on how fear affects God’s plan in our life.
Every Sunday after church, most of us go to a nearby restaurant to eat lunch. What if your waitress is noticeably upset and you feel the Holy Spirit nudging you to talk with her and comfort her through prayer. Do you follow the spirit or do you embrace the fear and the lie that you are inadequate for the task? Or maybe you have a coworker that is a confessed atheist that is going through the loss of a spouse or a child and does not have hope. This is when God wants you to show Christ’s love to them! We know that Jesus died for all sinners and now it’s time to share the hope and love with them, but we don’t. This is the sin of omission. Fear says we can’t, that we are not qualified for the task and they have already rejected God so, why try again. We give up without a second thought not realizing the eternal implication this will have on this soul.
Jesus knows the power of fear and that is why He makes promises like Matthew 28:20 And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age. Jesus knows its tough on the battlefield, and he is always right there with us!
When we became immersed believers in Christ, we received the gift of the Holy Spirit. We have God living inside of us! The power of God is in each of us, so what are we afraid of? “I can do all things through him who strengthens me.” (Philippians 4:13 ESV)
Jesus Christ died on the cross to defeat the bully in our lives. All we have to do is trust Him.

Leave a Reply

Categories

