Posted by: richardpowell2013 | February 7, 2016

Looking Past The Pain

  

Have you ever wondered why bad things happen to good people? Well, to start with according to God’s Word, we are like filthy rags compared to His righteousness(Isaiah 64:6). So when I say good people I mean people that try their best. So we try our best to do good in the eyes of the Lord and bad things still happen. 

What if God doesn’t see our trials as bad, but rather as direction? Philippians 2:13 tells us, “for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.” So when we go through trials in life instead of asking why, we should be asking what. 

The past 2 months have probably been the hardest of my life. I have a plan and goals for my life, but I am also a disciple of Christ and His plan and my plan don’t always coincide. Early in December I came up short of fulfilling a career goal that was set years ago because of a family illness. I lost the love of a sweet little girl that I called my granddaughter realizing I may never see her again. I lost my job and watched a young man get 2nd and 3rd degree burns that was under my direction. So you see, God and I have been talking quite a bit lately.

   
As these life changing events unfolded, I started wondering what is God up to? Where is he taking me and why does it have to hurt so much? Then, I thought about the cross. Looking back to the events surrounding the cross, all the hurt, pain and loss that was felt. The disciples ran and hid afraid of what was coming. Like them, we can’t see the plan God has laid out for our lives and it causes us to run and hide. I thank God He sent His son Jesus to be the final sacrifice for my sins and the ultimate example of what trusting God can accomplish. 

I was once told that God allows us to be knocked flat on our backs so it is easier to see where to reach for help. It seems like I’ve been on my back a lot lately and eagerly awaiting what plan God has for me! Remember, God never wastes a hurt.

Two days after I lost my job, I was called and offered storm work from a company I have never heard of. To this day, I’m not sure how they got my contact information, but God must have been at work. So I went somewhere I’ve never been with people I’ve never met. Needless to say, it was a little intimidating. When I arrived and hooked up with the crew, a young lineman introduced himself and said he knew me from my FB and Twitter accounts. I was honored that God was using it because I didn’t think anyone really noticed. Then he introduced me to about 6 other lineman standing in a circle and said that I’m the guy called HiVoltDisciple on Twitter, the online ministry he follows. Well, I never looked at my Twitter account as a ministry, but when God opens a door I will walk through it. As I stood in the circle with a captive audience, I started to talk about Jesus and what he has done in my life.  

As I witnessed to my brother linemen I realized a lot of them were believers that have just lost faith and needed encouragement. As we persevere in trouble, it motivates other believers to remain faithful. I thanked God for encouraging me by allowing me to serve others. By looking past the pain, God will use it to bring glory to His kingdom!

“Do you not know? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom. He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” Isaiah 40:28-31 
Until next time…..

Leave a Reply

Categories

